Siirry pääsisältöön

Music video analysis

I gave up trying to find a music video with both characters and a plot of some sort from the bands I listen to so I ventured to the trending page on youtube. I ended up picking the song Woman like me from the four-person girl group Little Mix and Nicki Minaj. (Is girlband the correct term as opposed to boyband?) I picked it solely on the name of the song assuming that it'd have something to do with gender. Who knew, I was right!


So there's really no plot in the video, but the song is about whether or not this theoretical man could ever fall in love with a woman like them. The man is told to be kind of shy while the singers have no filter, cause trouble and dress fancy. It's a pretty tired set-up but I'm more interested in what is shown in the video.

Besides showing the singers dancing or just standing around the video shows the women balancing stacks of books on their heads, ironing, and posting around a massive scale. They also show the women eating, but their forks are empty.

It's clear that the artists are trying to send a message about gender roles and the expectations placed on women. It's a good message for sure but it feels out of place. The song has absolutely nothing to do with the standards women are expected to live up to. It's just your run-of-the-mill pop song about love and putting in these supposedly thought-provoking scenes feels forced.

Also besides the aforementioned scenes, there are plenty of scenes where the group dances in skimpy clothes which, you know, more power to them I guess, but it does take away from the message they're trying to send.

I'll end this post with Nicki's last lines in the song. Words to live by if I can be honest:

I-It's the Queen and Little Mix, skated on 'em, sorry
My daddy is Indian (swish), a-all this curry (mhm)

Kommentit

Tämän blogin suosituimmat tekstit

*insert memey cake joke here*

The Portal games have been a favorite of mine for a very long time. Valve released the first portal game in 2007 and the sequel in 2011. It's the series that I recommend to people who are interested in playing video games, but for whatever reason haven't started playing yet. They're not super long, the beginning is slow paced so there's time to grasp the controls, the characters are captivating and there's not a whole lot going on story-wise so it's easy to follow. They're also on sale constantly so buying them for three euros is not a huge investment. Plot  Here's the plot summarized as briefly as possible to the best of my ability, there are some spoilers so tread carefully: the player controls a character names Chell, a mute woman, whos' forced to complete different physical tests for an AI called GLaDOS. The first game has only these two characters. GLaDOS can only be heard through voice messages from a speaker system. Most o...

Arrival

I was interested in the idea of the movie Arrival (2016) when the trailer came out, but not actually interested enough to actually go to the movies to watch it. That's why I was happy to see it on Netflix. *I won't spoil anything that wasn't shown in the trailer here* The movie is about an American linguistics professor dr. Louise Banks, played by Amy Adams, who is asked to decipher an alien language after they have landed on earth. There are 12 of the alien spacecrafts all around the earth, and one of the biggest plot points in the film is the different countries' failure to communicate effectively with each other to figure out why the aliens have arrived and what they want. *Here there be some spoilers* I mostly wanted to watch the movie because I'm interested in languages and fascinated by constructed languages. I loved the idea that a linguist was the main character in a sci-fi movie. That's why I was disappointed by how t...

Media diary - round I

Hello hello :)) I'm gonna use this first installment of this diary to kind of break down the way I use social media, both because I have coursework requirements to fill and because I haven't really spent that much time critically thinking about it. Also and it feels kind of nice to get these thoughts out. I have a problem with being overly critical of what I write, so since this blog isn't necessarily the most serious medium I'm just going to ramble here and see what the end result will be. Anyway, here we go, buckle up. I've never written a diary before. That's a lie. I made myself write three diary entries when I was like eight-ish and hated it, so I never did it again. In a way that ties into how I use social media today; often times it just kind of feels forced so I don't do it. I just don't post unless I have something super interesting going on, because I feel like nobody cares or nobody should care about whatever it is I'm doing most of th...